Email Phishing Scam from TD Banknorth (not)
I received an email from TD Banknorth (not) today that was an obvious phishing scam. Just in case you happened to receive a similar email today, you can safely delete it.
The telltale signs?
- Addressed to "TD Banknorth Customers." Doesn't seem very specific. Even if the bank doesn't include your name, they're likely to realize that you're just one person, not all of their customers.
- "We Kindly as you to confirm and update your details". Unnecessary capitalization of Kindly, and no period at the end of this sentence.
- "We offer you a new convenient and safe high-quality level of service to handle you ATM card." I think they meant "your."
We're all in trouble if phishing scammers ever learn to use good grammar.
But most importantly? They ask you to click through the email to their "site." Any legitimate bank will not include a link to their site and instead ask you to visit them by typing in the bank's URL. When I looked at the source code, I could see that the link is actually going to http://www.upshotokai.com/modules/Forums/language/north/index.htm which is obviously not a TD Banknorth URL.
Comments
I find it highly amusing, although not particularly surprising, that I've heard NOTHING from Banknorth about this scam. Perhaps Bill Ryan is too busy beating the bushes for new banks to buy to actually care anymore about his depositors. Or,as someone whose bank account doesn't top off at more than a couple of hundred bucks ( and that's on payday)I'm no longer of any concern to them.
s
April 27, 2007 12:19 PM
Yes Rich,
I received this email also and I'm not even a TD Banknorth client. That's another (duh) tell-tale sign. EBay phishing emails are some of the worst also. Even if you do business, buying or selling, on EBay you should be careful in clicking links on emails. I never click through, just to be safe. Anything officially sent via Ebay will always be in your Ebay account.
Thanks for the good article.
Lynnelle
Posted by LynnelleApril 27, 2007 11:19 PM
